Amish Sugar Cookies

Image

I am not generally much for a cake batter type cookie but I grew up on these and they are near and dear to me. So I’ll make an exception.

I use to make these at home growing up along with a cup of hot tea and dunk them in. OH yum, simple goodness.

So I had a hankerin’ for these yesterday and I whipped up a batch. They make a lot so be ready to share some with the neighborhood kids or have a tea party. I especially like these for little kids, I call them clean cookies because there is no chocolate so the kiddos don’t get as messy. Great snack for vehicle rides.

A little tip a good friend shared with me years ago is to always double the vanilla in a recipe. Consider this when making cookies or brownies and even muffins.

Amish Sugar Cookies

1-1/2 cup oil

1-1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs (farm fresh if possible) šŸ™‚

4 cups flour

1 tsp. soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 cup buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk add 1 Tablespoon of vinegar to your milk)

3/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. vanilla

Mix all together and bake at 350 for 8 minutes. No longer. Let cool a bit and then transfer to your cookie platter.

Image

2 thoughts on “Amish Sugar Cookies

  1. These amish cookies look so moist and yummy! Always love a good sugar cookie! We loved having you link up to our “Strut Your Stuff Saturday.” Hope to see you back soon! -The Sisters

  2. I tried this recipe on Saturday. I needed to bake something to share at church. I iced them with vanilla icing. Before the 1st service had even ended, the cookies were gone. And everyone was talking about them. I’m told I have to bring them again. And again. And again. So thank you! :0)

Leave a Reply

